KC Newsletter! March 2024

right on time baybee

Hi hi!

I think I covered all the insane family stuff that was happening to us last month, but I’d like to say again how much Lee and I both appreciate the support from everybody when things got weird. A lot of y’all reached out to offer moral support and some of you even sent along just like. Incredibly generous donations to help offset the costs we suddenly had, we’re both still kind of reeling from having that bit of stress lifted so suddenly. Thank y’all so much for anything you’ve done to help keep things running around here, I’m gonna do my best to pay it forward when I can and for now I’ll keep working hard to earn it.

Newsletter start!

This month’s finances and what all got done!

March numbers:

Five pages went up on the site since the last newsletter, and I also got one (1) page inked on the third KC Special, which does Exist, and which I am working on lmao. Most of the novel work this month was editing so the wordcount isn’t very relevant, but: progress is occurring. My paycheck was $360.96, up almost 24 dollars from February! It’s not Goal-Meeting numbers but line does go up, I’m encouraged.

We eked up to 40%! I got to fill in another little notch on the website’s Phin Meter. Did you notice her?

Merch stuff!

Like I mentioned on the site, the long-awaited turtle plushes are up in the shop and will stay that way for the time being. Get one if you want, and if you can’t swing it right this second that’s okay, we’ll be happy to get you one whenever you get around to it. We don’t do Fake Scarcity bullshit here lol.

In that vein: I’d really, really like to try and restock all my volumes this summer. It’s going to be expensive but hopefully we’ll make a little bit at the shows we still have on the slate in the next two months; the real bottleneck is I’m having to reformat dozens of pages for a different printer for like. The third time. Independent publishing is a bitch you guys.

ANYWAY gonna try and get on that, and hopefully run a big preorder event like I’ve done in the past. If you’re newer here: whenever I restock books, I like to take preorders and offer bundles at a discount if you need multiple volumes to finish out your set. I’m not sure how much of a discount I’ll be able to offer since the printing costs have increased, but REGARDLESS: if you want physical comics you will be able to get them and I will let you know as soon as that’s possible. How nice we have a newsletter now for this sort of thing.

Last Minute Appearance

I got contacted like four days ago to go run a workshop on Anime Character Design at the Fort Collins Autism Resource Fair?? Which sounds cool as hell so I will be doing that in uhh three hours lmfao. I have, literally no idea what kind of thing this is, but I’m gonna show up ready to either give a (way, way overprepared) presentation about character design OR shoot the shit with a bunch of little kids about pokemon for an hour while their parents are at the more adult activities. Could go either way. If you’re in the area, this is happening at the Fort Collins Museum of Discovery and I’m supposed to be presenting from 3-4pm (today, Sunday the 7th. This newsletter was meant to go out last night but we had a power outage lol). I believe it’s a ticketed event, but there’s lots of other stuff going on and you get into the museum for the day, so maybe not a bad way to spend your Sunday afternoon regardless.

Also: don’t forget to come out to Wicked West next weekend if you’re in the area! I’m bringing the last of my book stock, some She’s, and all the other Stuff I usually have. This should be the first time I get to set up my full table since we got out here and redesigned it, I’m hype!!

Novel Stuff!

I have a sample for you! I’m writing the first draft scene by scene so I don’t have the book planned out into proper chapters yet, but I thought the introduction passage would be a good indicator of things that will be the same and things that will be different.

I’m also including a draft of the forward I’ve written to be included in the final book, since it pretty well explains my own feelings and hopefully primes people who are familiar with the material to interact with this new thing. Which is, all of y’all probably! If that is not you I would recommend trying out my webcomic Kidd Commander sometime.

I’ve settled on a title I think, although like everything else here it is very much subject to change; there’s a long way to go still. These are the same files, but one is a pdf, which (if I’ve done everything right) should look roughly the way it will if we get to print minus the paragraph spacing I like to do for digital work. The epub is an epub, and its formatting and little cover with Phin in her swing is at the mercy of where you read it, but you can adjust the text size! Love living in the future.

Thanks!

god please don’t let more lifetime movie shit happen this month lol

-Aria!

Upcoming Appearances!

Fort Collins Autism Resource Fair
LITERALLY TODAY LMAO

Wicked West Comic Expo
April 13-14, Loveland, CO

Anime 307
September, 7-8, Cheyenne, WY

Rocky Mountain Con
Nov. 9-10, Denver, CO

I love going to conventions! And other comic-flavored things now I guess! If there’s an event in or around Colorado you’d like to see me at, contact the coordinators and have them get in touch with me.