KC Newsletter! July 2024

Supporter Credits and such!

WOAH NELLY

This month’s finances and what all got done!

Fanexpo took up the entire first week of July, but other than that we got five comic pages done alongside a shitload of editing on the MHE manuscript! I also added a bunch of new merch to the shop, got the summer postcard bundles sent out, and started work in earnest on Volume 4. My monthly income before platform fees and such shot up to around $565, from $543 last month.

With that we’ve just nudged over into 62% of our overall goal, which fucking rules, but I’m sort of getting worried we’re going to stall out around 600 a month and when we hit the end of my window here KC is going to be in this like. Weird middle spot, where it’s still losing money but it’s so close it’s a waste not to continue. The good news is there have been a couple months this year where we HAVE managed to pay the bills between my monthly support, more shop orders than usual, and convention profits, but those extra little boosts aren’t reliable sources like the steady reader support is. We worked too hard for our cozy little trailer to risk losing it because I can’t figure out how to write a good story haha.

I don’t know what the answer is yet! For now it’s probably just Keep Working.

Book stuff!

KC Volume 4 is starting to shape up! This one's gonna be hefty, only a little smaller than Volume 2 I think. Exciting! Here’s the (subject to change) new author page, it got a little weirder than usual hehe.

Check out Baby Fundamentalist Aria! Yikes!

I’m still looking for a reputable ex-christian organization that provides deprogramming resources so I can maybe provide some direction on this page for people who need it, but there aren’t a lot of them. The most helpful stuff I found when I achieved escape velocity was Reddit communities and little forums where people came together to help each other, but none of those are really stable enough to list in my print book I don’t think. I got some time though!

I'm committing to adding a credits page to this one! I will be adding everybody pledging any amount, using the name attached to the account you're pledging with (NOT your paypal name or the one attached to your mailing address, I know how it is). If you'd like me to list something different, or opt out entirely, please let me know asap. You can reply to this email even! Just make sure to include your current supporter info so I can add a note to your spot in my files. If you need some time to think on it that's fine too! You've got a few weeks, just don't forget.

Since nobody really took advantage of the physical preorder bonuses last time I'm not doing any for this book! They took a lot of time and energy and I can't afford to spend that if it isn't going anywhere. But I'd still like to do something, so we're trying out Special Editions instead! I'll have photos and such once I get the proofs in, but the plan is to do something fancy with the inside covers; the outside cover will be the same for everybody, so they'll match on your shelf regardless of what edition you get.

These editions will only be available during the preorder period, so plan for that! If you're in the book club this is the version you'll be getting. Please look forward to it!

Speaking of those credits actually,

I mentioned on tumblr last week that you should get your pledge set up if you want to get your name in the book credits OR join the book club in time to get Volume 4. Which is still true here in the newsletter, please make sure you’re where you want to be! Not much else to that really BUT I did wanna clarify something:

I had a 1$ tier for a LONG time on Patreon, but I locked it recently (and didn't carry it over to ko-fi) because I realized uh. After fees and taxes and everything, I was only getting like ten cents from those pledges lmao. Granted, that WOULD certainly add up if everybody following me on social media was handing me 40 cents each month, but I feel shitty about people trying to support me and essentially just supporting Patreon, so now the 2 dollar tier is the lowest reward thing I offer.

Why is this relevant! I mentioned that everybody pledging 2 dollars or more gets their name in the book (if they like) and a few folks upped their dollar pledges a little in response to that. You were grandfathered in! You didn't have to do that! I know this is all pretty small potatoes but I try really hard to be clear about money with y'all, and I never mean to like. Pressure anybody, outside of the ambient unavoidable pressure speeding towards us with December coming up and all I suppose. Anyway the takeaway here is: if you are giving me money, you are helping, and that means you're getting your name in the book you gave me space to make. I'm gonna leave the empty slots open on Patreon for a little bit so y'all can lower your pledges again if you want to, no hard feelings at all and I'm sorry for stressing y'all out haha

The book club is still ten a month and you'll need at least a couple payments to go through before it kicks in, which is why I'm reminding y'all now. These rewards do run on the honor system! Please don't sign up for it briefly just to get a cheaper book this one time. I can't stop you but: I will be sad, and also lose a lot of money.

Shop news!

Oh man there’s a lot of shop news. Volumes 1 and 2 are sold out until at least after I get this August show done, and I have 2 copies of Volume 3 left in stock if you want one before the next restock!

I’m also doing stickerbook preorders! They’ll probably be in regular stock eventually, but if you know you want one I’d recommend ordering it now so you get it faster. These are new to me and they’re SO useful!! I made one for myself and I’ve already filled several pages, idk how I lived without it before.

There are actually too many new items to gracefully fit all of them in this newsletter, so I’ll just say all of it’s in the shop! For now, here are some of the new keychains because I’m just delighted by how cute they turned out this time.

them

Novel stuff!

Not much! I wrote a few thousand new words, but most of this month has been cleaning stuff up. I wrote a ridiculous amount of prose in June and while that’s certainly something, editing is a whole other job. I’m also pretty focused on getting Volume 4 put together, so novel news might be kinda slow for a minute. Sit tight!

Thanks!

That’s all I got for ya this time, but maybe keep an eye out for potential extra emails this month regarding book stuff!

-Aria

Upcoming Appearances!

Fort Collins Comic Con
August 16-18, Fort Collins, CO

Anime 307
September, 7-8, Cheyenne, WY

Rocky Mountain Con
Nov. 9-10, Denver, CO

I love going to conventions! And other comic-flavored things now I guess! If there’s an event in or around Colorado you’d like to see me at, contact the coordinators and have them get in touch with me.